The Savvy Reader thesavvyreader.ca

It’s that time of year again! Getting ready to start your Christmas shopping? Here are some ideas for the book lover in your life:

1) Harry Potter Page to Screen bv Bob McCabeFor the Harry Potter fan. This HUGE book shows in great detail how the Harry Potter novels were transformed onto the big screen. Packed with interviews with the cast and crew, photographs, illustrations, and more, this is the ultimate gift.

2) The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson & Axel Scheffler For little ones. This Christmas give little ones the classic story of the big, bad Gruffalo and the quick-thinking little mouse, written by the wonderful Julia Donaldson.

3) When She Woke by Hillary JordanFor the dystopian fiction fan. In this thriller a young woman’s skin is dyed red as the punishment for having an abortion. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale or Before I Go to Sleep.

4) Justin Bieber: First Step 2 Forever by Justin BieberFor the Be-lieber in your life. There’s no stopping the rise of this pop star and in this 100% official bio Justin shares the details of his journey, what he’s like off-stage, and what it’s like to be a teen idol.

5) How I Got This Way by Regis PhilbinFor fans of celebrity memoirs. Suffering from Regis withdrawal? In this new memoir Regis shares stories from his years in showbiz, and boy, has he seen it all!

6) Shatter Me by Tahereh MafiFor teen readers, or fans of YA. This dystopian thriller has been getting rave reviews, and has been called the next Twilight and The Hunger Games (that’s big praise!). It’s the story of Juliette, a girl who has been locked up by the government because she has a lethal touch, but she’s about to realize just how powerful a weapon she is…

7) The Patrol by Ryan FlavelleFor non-fiction readers, older brothers or dads. The Patrol gives you insight into the life of a Canadian soldier in Afghanistan. This book is very gritty and very real. The Calgary Herald says, “Every Canadian student should be issued a copy of The Patrol.”

8) Dinner Chez Moi by Laura CalderFor the foodie! It also makes the perfect host/hostess gift. Laura Calder teaches you the fine art of feeding friends and entertaining, in this lovely cookbook packed with personal stories and recipes.

9) This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth OppelFor the reluctant teen/tween reader. This is the gripping story of a young Victor Frankenstein who must embark on a dangerous mission to save his twin brother. If you want boys to read, give them this book.

10) Jacqueline Kennedy: Historic Conversations on Life with John F. KennedyFor the history buff. In 1964, Jackie Kennedy recorded seven interviews about her life with JFK. Now, for the first time, they can be heard and read in this deluxe book and 8-CD set.

11) The Strain trilogy by Guillermo del Toro & Chuck HoganFor the reader who believes vampires are NOT supposed to sparkle. This is a terrifying trilogy about a war between vampires and humans. It’s an epic battle of survival, it’s bloody, it’s scary — it’s the stuff nightmares are made of.

12) Every Thing On It by Shel SilversteinFor kids ages 7-14. An amazing collection of never-before-seen drawings and poems from the wonderful Shel Silverstein. If you loved The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends, you will love this book. It’s a keepsake for sure.

13) The Lost Girls by Jennifer Baggett, Holly C. Corbett & Amanda PressnerFor your best girl friend. This is the true story of three best friends who quit their high-stress jobs and backpack around the world for a year.

14) Cornered by Ron MacLeanFor dad/the sports nut. Here, Ron MacLean shares stories from Hockey Night in Canada, the Olympics, and all his years covering sports in Canada. Finally, Ron gets a word in edgewise!

15) Christmas at Tiffany’s by Karen SwanFor chick lit fans. When Cassie’s marriage falls apart she turns to her three best friends to figure out where she belongs in the world. Taking time to stay with each of her friends in three glamorous cities, she tries to find her home, a new life, and herself.

16) The World According to Facebook by Wylie Overstreet For the social media addict/friend that likes a laugh. The history of the world, as told through ‘Likes’, pokes, and wall posts.

17) Dear Bully: 7o Authors Tell Their Stories by Megan Kelley Hall & Carrie JonesFor anyone who has ever experience bullying. This is one powerful book, filled with stories from authors like RL Stine, Lauren Oliver, and more, all enforcing the same message: You are not alone. This is the book for anyone that has ever been picked on, no matter what age.

18) The Food 52 Cookbook by Amanda Hesser & Merrill StubbsFor the foodie. This is the first ever online community cookbook, created from recipes submitted to the Food52.com website. Each week for fifty-two weeks, Amanda & Merrill ran recipe contests on the website and the 140 winning recipes make up this book. Pretty cool, right?

19) Perfect People by Peter James For the reader who loves gripping fiction. All they wanted was a healthy child…What they got was the perfect nightmare. In Perfect People, bestselling author Peter James crafts a thrilling and terrifying story about a couple that gets the chance to design their baby. This book is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat, but will also leave you questioning where you stand on the designer baby debate.

20) 100 Unforgettable Dresses by Hal Rubenstein For the fashionista. Rubenstein reveals the 100 most memorable dresses from film, television, fashion, society, and politics. Packed with photographs, insights and behind-the-scenes stories, this gift is sure to be a hit with anyone who loves fashion.

There you go! 20 gifts that we think book lovers would love to see in their stockings this year. If you need a suggestion for someone on your list let us know in the comments below, or tweet it to us with the hashtag #HCCElf.

And, in the next couple of weeks we’ll have plenty more gift lists for you! Stay tuned for gift ideas for the guys in your life, kids and teens, foodies, e-book readers, and more…

Happy Holidays,

Shannon

For more gift ideas, Top 10 lists, and book reviews follow @SavvyReader

  • http://twitter.com/LazenBeauty Janiera Eldridge

    This is a really great list of books! The two i’m putting on my Christmas list is shatter Me and when she woke, both seem to have really great storyline!

  • http://www.thesavvyreader.ca savvyreader

    Thanks Janiera! Hope you enjoy both :) You’ll have to let us know what you think.

  • Anonymous

    Women and men of the world Wake Up to the Wisdom of Arlene Dickinson’s “Persuasion”-an ancient art explained personally and scientifically by a successful, compassionate,beautiful and humble Dragon. My ninety year old mother is delighted that this book is her Christmas gift. Arlene is the mentor we’ve all been waiting for.  

  • http://twitter.com/pinkcreamsoda Audrey

    I want that HP Page to Screen book SO bad!!! And I recently got my friend Divergent for Christmas…. books are so easy to wrap :D

RSS