The Savvy Reader thesavvyreader.ca

This summer has been a hot one, and no, I am not talking about the weather. The success of the Fifty Shades of Grey series has been astronomical – outselling all books this year, including the franchise it was originally based off of: The Twilight Saga. This massive success indicates that women across North America like books – and them like ‘em hot. Knowing this, we have compiled a list of yummy reads that will ensure the decreasing temperature won’t make this season any less steamy.

1. Destined to Play by Indigo Bloome

Alexandra Blake is in her late thirties, a successful psychologist and mother of two. But when her husband and children leave for a camping trip, Alexandra leaves for Sydney to tackle some work she has been neglecting. In Sydney she reunites with Dr. Jeremy Quinn, an ex-lover who presents her with an offer she cannot refuse – one weekend in his penthouse suite. She agrees, not knowing that all inhibitions are to be left at the door…

2. Bared to You by Sylvia Day

Bared to You invites the reader to witness a brief encounter turn into a tantalizing connection. On the eve of Eva Tramell’s first day at Crossfire Agency, she visits the office to familiarize herself with her upcoming work environment. It is here she meets Gideon Cross, the young, sexy owner of the company. Gideon Cross is powerful and knows what he wants: Eva, as more than just an employee.

3. Jane Eyre Laid Bare by Eve Sinclair

Debut novelist Eve Sinclair has created an erotic twist on her favourite novel, the classic Jane Eyre. There is no denying that Jane and her older employer, the brooding and handsome Mr. Rochester, have chemistry. This passion is magnified in Jane Eyre Laid Bare, but Mr. Rochester’s dark fantasies and insatiable appetite may be too much for young, innocent Jane.

4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander, the first of the highly-acclaimed series, was published nearly thirty years ago; but its story still captivates readers of all genders and ages. It follows Claire Randall, who is exploring Scotland with her husband when she suddenly travels back in time. It is in the past when she meets Jamie Fraser, a young Scotsman. Outlander combines history, fantasy, comedy and romance; but it’s the chemistry between Claire and Jamie that have continued the series for almost  30 years.

5. Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

Something for paranormal romance fans! Jeaniene Frost returns to storytelling with her new series, The Night Prince. The first in the series, Once Burned introduces Leila, who after a tragic accident has been more than just physically scarred – she has obtained terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and telepathic thought. The creatures of the night kidnap her, believing she could be the weapon that could destroy the strongest vampire in the world. But when Leila meets Vlad, it is not violence that consumes the pair, but passion.

6. Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard

Gabriel’s Inferno brings Fifty Shades home. Julia Mitchell is working on her Master’s degree at the University of Toronto under Gabriel Emerson, a very handsome, rich Professor. Their relationship is defined by his dislike towards her, but after several chance encounters, he realizes that his dislike towards her is  actually attraction. And it’s mutual. 

7. Pleasures of the Night by Sylvia Day

Lyssa Bates has met the man of her dreams: literally. He comes to her in that particular moment between sleep and consciousness and fulfills her most intimate pleasures. Alas, he is nothing but a dream, a figure of her imagination, until one day he turns up. In the flesh. Awake. Equally as desirable as in her deepest dreams.

8. At The Duke’s Pleasure by Tracy Anne Warren

Edward Byron is the Duke of Clybourne and has everything… except a bride. A marriage is arranged between Claire and Edward, and although Claire has longed for Edward since a teenager, she refuses to marry a man who neither knows her nor loves her. Thus, Edward must woo Claire, but he is not accustom to working for things. He learns quickly, however, that the harder she is to win over, the more he wants her.

9. Anna From Away by D.R. MacDonald

Anna From Away is a fall release that has said to “steal its readers’ hearts away.” It tells the story of Anna, a woman in her late-forties who has moved to Cape Breton to escape her husband. It is here that she meets Murdock, and author D.R. MacDonald introduces us to a rare and passionate kind of love: the kind that comes after love has failed. Anna From Away is a powerful, seductive, suspenseful novel, and a must read this fall.

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Okay, so it isn’t the hottest read, but it is very romantic and a personal favourite. What can I say, I’m a hopeless romantic.

Stay warm ;)

Kaitlyn
Follow me on twitter at @ktvncnt

RSS