Introducing the 2014 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist!

This week, the Scotiabank Giller Prize announced its 2014 longlist! The Giller Prize, now in its 21st year, strives to highlight the very best in Canadian fiction. The prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

This year’s jury is made up of Canadian author Shauna Singh Baldwin, British novelist Justin Cartwright, and American writer Francine Prose. Each jury member read over 160 books and eventually narrowed down the list to 12 exceptional titles. The Giller Prize will present its shortlist at a special event in Toronto on October 6th.

To celebrate having FOUR titles on the longlist, HarperCollinsCanada has offered an ebook promotion on their previous Giller recognized titles! Visit to get Giller-nominated novels for as little as $2.99, or download this year’s nominees: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill, The Betrayers by David Bezmozgis, American Innovations by Rivka Galchen and Tell by Frances Itani.

See all 12 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlisted novels below, and tell us who you’re hoping to see on the shortlist on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!


Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt
See my 50 Book Pledge profile here.

Posted by

Digital Marketing Coordinator at HarperCollins Canada. Film, fiction and fashion blog enthusiast. Follow me on twitter @SavvyReader & @ktvncnt.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.