Summer Fiction Preview 2019!

I know, I know, we’ve just barely started experiencing spring weather, but it’s never too early to look ahead to summer – especially when books are involved! So, grab a nice cold drink and some and floaties, because our annual summer fiction preview and giveaway are finally here!

1

Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

You always remember your first love… don’t you? What would you do if, on the day you were fired from the Worst Restaurant in Sheffield (according to Tripadvisor), you also just so happened to come on and find the Worst Boyfriend in the World in bed with someone else? That’s the exact predicament Georgina finds herself in when she meets her new boss, Lucas McCarthy, who also just so happens to be her first love. Seems like a great scenario to find yourself in, right? Sure, but there’s one problem: Lucas doesn’t seem to remember her… at all.

2

The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai

 Rom-com number 2! This time, Rhiannon Hunter – the person who revolutionized romance in the dating world – is absolutely dedicated to her career. When Samson Lima – former pro-football player – walks into her life and woos her during the course of one magical night, maybe all that is about to chance… Until Samson disappears from her life entirely. Is he ghosting her? That might be an easier pill to swallow when Rhiannon sees Samson resurface a few months later, in league with a rival dating app creator. What follows is a compelling, fascinating, and edgy romance sure that you are sure to adore!

3

Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle

Kimberly Belle, the bestselling author of Three Days Missing, is back with another twisty tale! For nearly a year, Beth has been plotting to leave her abusive husband. To take advantage of her one shot at freedom, she’ll need a new name, a new look, and a new city. Everything must be perfect, because one small slip and her husband will find her… A couple hundred miles away, a man returns home to discover his wife, Sabine, is missing, and has taken nothing with her, except for her car. Where is Sabine? And who is Beth?

4

The Ventriloquists by E.R. Ramzipoor

Oceans 11 meets All The Light We Cannot See in this stunning novel about a ragtag gang of journalists and resistance fighters who risk everything for an elaborate scheme to undermine the Reich. In Brussels in 1943, the Nazis approach the creators of an underground dissident newspaper with an impossible choice: either transform their newspaper into a Nazi propaganda bomb that will sway public opinion against the allies, or be killed. What follows is an incredible tale of courage that have been forgotten by time. Oh, we forgot one thing – this is based on a true story!

5

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson

In 1936, Bluet is the last of the Kentucky Blues. In the dusty Appalachian hills of Troublesome Creek, nineteen and blue-skinned, Bluet has used up her last chance for “respectability” and a marriage bed. Instead, she joins the historical Pack Horse Library Project of Kentucky and becomes a librarian, riding up treacherous mountains on a mule to deliver books and other reading material to the poor hill communities of Eastern Kentucky. Along her dangerous route, Bluet confronts many who are distrustful of her blue skin. Not everyone is so keen on Bluet’s family or the Library Project, and the impoverished Kentuckians are quick to blame a Blue for any trouble in their small town.

6

Growing Things by Paul Tremblay

Paul Tremblay exploded onto the horror scene with A Head Full of Ghosts and followed that success up with two other spine-chilling novels, Disappearance at Devil’s Rock and The Cabin At the End of the World. Now, Paul Tremblay is back with Growing Things, a masterful anthology featuring nineteen pieces of short fiction. From global catastrophe to the demons inside our heads, Tremblay illuminates our primal fears and darkest dreams in startlingly original fiction that leaves us unmoored. As he lowers the sky and yanks the ground from beneath our feet, we are compelled to contemplate the darkness inside our own hearts and minds. You’re going to want to make sure you read this one with the lights on.

7

The Chai Factor by Farah Heron

Thirty-year-old engineer Amira Khan has set one rule for herself: no dating until her grad-school thesis is done. Nothing can distract her from completing a paper that is so good her boss will give her the promotion she deserves when she returns to work in the city. Amira leaves campus early, planning to work in the quiet basement apartment of her family’s house. But she arrives home to find that her grandmother has rented the basement to . . . a barbershop quartet. Seriously. And Duncan, the small-town baritone with the flannel shirts, is driving her up the wall. As Amira and Duncan clash, she is surprised to feel a simmering attraction for him. How can she be interested in someone who doesn’t get her, or her family’s culture? When intolerance rears its ugly head and people who are close to Amira get hurt, she learns that there is more to Duncan than meets the eye. In the end, it may be that this small-town singer is the only person who sees her at all.

8

The Golden Hour by Beatriz Williams

The New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Wives and A Certain Age creates a dazzling epic of World War II-era Nassau—a hotbed of spies, traitors, and the most infamous couple of the age, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor. The stories of two unforgettable women thread together in this extraordinary epic of espionage, sacrifice, human love, and human courage, set against a shocking true crime and the rise and fall of a legendary royal couple.

9

The Confessions of Frannie Langton by Sara Collins

Perfect for fans of Alias Grace and The Underground RailroadThe Confessions of Frannie Langton is the story of a servant and former slave that is accused of murdering her employer and his wife. A murder mystery that travels across the Atlantic and through the darkest channels of history, The Confessions of Frannie Langton is a brilliant, searing depiction of race, class, and oppression that penetrates the skin and sears the soul, and the story of a woman of her own making in a world that would see her unmade.

10

The Last Time I Saw You by Liv Constantine

Dr. Kate English has it all. But all that changes the night Kate’s mother, Lily, is found dead, brutally murdered in her own home. Heartbroken and distraught, Kate reaches out to her estranged best friend, Blaire Barrington, who rushes to her side for the funeral, where the years of distance between them are forgotten in a moment. That evening, Kate’s grief turns to horror when she receives an anonymous text: You think you’re sad now, just wait. By the time I’m finished with you, you’ll wish you had been buried today. More than ever, Kate needs her old friend’s help. Once Blaire decides to take the investigation into her own hands, it becomes clear that all is not as it seems in Baltimore high society. As infidelity, lies, and betrayals come to light, and tensions rise to a boiling point, she begins to alienate Kate’s friends and relatives with her relentless, accusatory questions, as she tries to find Lily’s killer. The murderer could be anyone—friend, neighbor, loved one. But whoever it is, it’s clear that Kate is next on their list…

Well, there you have it, Savvy Readers – the 10 books we’re most excited to read this summer! Sound amazing, don’t they? Well, we have some good news for you… You can enter to win ALL 10 BOOKS RIGHT NOW! Make sure you’re signed up for the 50 Book Pledge and click here to enter the giveaway! Contest closes May 10th.

What summer releases are you most eagerly awaiting? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15

 

 

9 thoughts on “Summer Fiction Preview 2019!

  1. The Confessions of Frannie Langton, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, The Ventriloquists and The Golden Hour. Seems like a good batch of historical fiction releases for summer.

Leave a Reply to Audrey Lawrence Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.