50 Book Pledge Featured Read: Don’t You Forget About Me

It’s Monday, so you know what that means, Savvy Readers… It’s time for a brand new 50 Book Pledge Featured Read! If summer isn’t the absolute perfect time to dive headfirst into a rom-com, then I don’t know what is. And up this week, we have the book that is going to change everything you know about rom-coms (for the better, of course!).

By a show of hands, who here has read Mhairi McFarlane before? Wait, no, that’s not going to work… Well, you know what, I’ll just say this: Mhairi is such a fabulous author, and if this is the first time you’re hearing about her, you should definitely check out her other books, like Who’s That Girl? and It’s Not Me, It’s You. We promise you that you will not be disappointed!

tenor (1).gif

Want to know what this one’s about? Of course you do.

You always remember your first love… don’t you?

If there’s anything worse than being fired from the worst restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way—bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: it’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And—make that two problems—he doesn’t remember her. At all.

giphy.gif

But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat… what more could a girl really need? Right? Not only has Lucas McCarthy grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog (yes, there’s a DOG IN THIS BOOK!) along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief—and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth… or a second chance with the one that got away?

tenor (2).gif
This gif has nothing to do with the book, aside from the fact that it’s from my favourite video ever… Let’s just say it has to do with the dog in the book, okay?

Like we said earlier, all of Mhairi McFarlane‘s books are AMAZING, and this one is certainly no exception. There are tons of music references throughout, which makes it the perfect book for music lovers, and it’s just a hilarious, fun, down-to-earth rom-com. Plus, Georgina is the most relatable main character we’ve read in a long time! (It also helps that Lucas is the book boyfriend of everyone’s dreams.)

Don’t You Forget About Meis the perfect summertime read – it’s witty, it’s funny, it’s relatable, and it’s just so darn entertaining. Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne or the Bridget Jones series, Don’t You Forget About Meis the book of the summer, and you do not want to miss it!

giphy (1).gif

Don’t You Forget About Me is this week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured Read! Add it to your bookshelf today!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @SavvyReader and @JesseDorey15

 

One thought on “50 Book Pledge Featured Read: Don’t You Forget About Me

Leave a Reply to Colline Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.