A Wild and Terrifying Debut You Do NOT Want to Miss

I don’t know about you, Savvy Readers, but I’m an absolute sucker for all things action/adventure. Movies, TV series, video games, books… it doesn’t matter! If you’re like me and like your books with a good ol’ fashioned shootout, scientists and military officers racing to prevent the destruction of the world, and a healthy dose of explosions, then you do NOT want to miss this exciting debut novel.

giphy.gif

Let’s set the stage, shall we? Western Australia, 1987. Roberto Diaz, a bioterror operative for the Pentagon, is sent to a small village with his partner and a brilliant scientist to investigate what the American government believes is the remnants of an insidious biochemical attack. What he finds when he gets there, however, is much, much more frightening: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. After a fight to the death, Roberto is able to contain the organism and bury it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository.

wu8jook8sku11.gif
Phew! Mission accomplished, right?

Unfortunately for, well, humanity, decades have passed, things have gotten lost in the shuffle, and things are about to get real. Thanks in part to the climate crisis and rising global temperatures, and perhaps partially due to government ineptitude and general forgetfulness, the organism that has spent decades learning and evolving has found its way out of its containment and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. And only Diaz knows how to stop it.

giphy (1).gif
Uh oh

The only issue – well, maybe not the only issue, but one of the biggest issues – is that there are a whole lot of people out there who haven’t encountered this organism before. Like, you know, the whole world… But the real danger arrives when two unwitting security guards – one an ex-con just trying to rebuild his life the right way, and the other a brilliant single mother – are joined by a team of criminals and unknowingly end up right in the path of the evolving organism. Even a deer shows up to the party… Yes, you read that correctly… A DEER!

source.gif
This sounds like a case for Ethan Hunt. Er, I mean Roberto Diaz.

Over the course of one harrowing night, Diaz, along with his newfound team of completely unprepared security guards, must outlast the bumbling idiocy of the gang of criminals, outsmart a (surprisingly clever) infected deer, and bury the organism once and for all. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humour. Oh, and a couple of guns. Will that be enough to save humanity?

g6pgj2et92f21

Written by David Koepp, the brilliant screenwriter behind such modern classics as Spider-Man Mission: Impossible, and Jurassic Park (my personal favourite movie of all-time, if I might add)Cold Storage is the most fun I’ve had with a book in a long, long time. Filled with heart-racing action sequences, unbelievably witty and hilarious dialogue, a curious cast of characters, unforgettable moments (remember that deer I mentioned? Just you wait!), and explosion after explosion, Cold Storage is a book that reads like a Tom Cruise movie.

Cg55Rsi
Remember, Savvy Readers: Cool guys and gals don’t look at explosions.

Perfect for readers of Andy Weir, Noah Hawley, and, of course, Michael CrichtonCold Storage is a wildly terrifying and entertaining novel in the vein of Jurassic Park, The Da Vinci Code, and The Andromeda Strain. If you like fast-paced, entertaining reads – or simply love seeing stuff blow up on the big screen – then you do NOT want to miss this debut novel. It’s basically a movie just waiting to happen! If I’ve piqued your interest at all, then you’re in luck… Our friends over at HarperCollins Canada recently posted a sneak peek at the first chapter! Check it out here and let us know what you think!

Tell us, Savvy Readers: What’s the best action book or movie you’ve ever read/seen? Do you love Jurassic Park as much as I do? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Feel free to follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.