Our Favourite Light-Hearted Books

Happy Thursday Savvy Readers! If you’re anything like me, by the time you reach Thursday you’re pretty tuckered out and looking forward to a weekend of relaxation and reading. Lucky for you, I’ve put together a list of our favourite light-hearted reads that are sure to put a smile on your face!

y648.jpg

Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

One of my favourite summer reads, Don’t You Forget About Me is a hilarious and heartwarming story. Fired from her job at The Worst Restaurant in Sheffield, Georgina returns home to find her boyfriend in bed with someone else. So, when her new boss, Lucas McCarthy, turns out to be the first boy she ever fell in love with, it feels like the start of something. The only problem? He doesn’t seem to remember Georgina -at all.

y648 (1).jpg

Akin by Emma Donoghue

A brilliant tale of love, loss, and family, Akin by Emma Donoghue is a beautifully written story following a retired professor whose life is thrown into chaos when he takes his great-nephew to the French Riviera, in the hopes of uncovering his own mother’s wartime secrets. Written with all the tenderness and psychological intensity that made Room a bestseller, Akin is a funny and heart-wrenching tale of an old man and a boy who unpick their painful story and start to write a new one together. The perfect read to get wrapped up in!

y648 (2).jpg

The Summer Hours at the Robbers Library by Sue Halpern

People are drawn to libraries for all kinds of reasons. Most come for the books themselves, of course; some come to borrow companionship. For head librarian Kit, the public library offers what she craves the most: peace. But that changes when fifteen-year-old, home-schooled Sunny gets arrested for shoplifting a dictionary and is assigned to do community service at the library for the summer. Joined by Rusty, a Wall Street high-flyer suddenly crashed to earth, in this little library, Kit, Sunny, and Rusty are drawn to each other, and to a cast of other offbeat regulars. As they come to term with how their lives have unraveled, they also discover how they might knit them together again and finally reclaim their stories.

y648 (3).jpg

One Minute Later by Susan Lewis

From international bestselling author Susan Lewis comes a riveting and unforgettable novel of a woman whose life changes in an instant and the handsome young man with whom she shares a secret history. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, in One Minute Later, Vivi Shager is living her dream. A thriving lawyer, a gorgeous apartment in London, and a full calendar that keeps her busy at work and at play. But on the day of her twenty-seventh birthday, an undiagnosed heart condition sends Vivi’s prospects for the future into a tailspin. After escaping her roots nearly a decade ago, she’s forced to return to her childhood home to be cared for by her devoted and enigmatic mother. Vivi has always known the woman is hiding something and now she’s determined to find out what it is.

y648 (4).jpg

The Scent of You by Maggie Alderson

Polly’s life is great. Her children are away at university, her glamorous mother—still modeling at eighty-five—is happily settled in a retirement village, and her perfume blog is taking off. Then her husband announces he needs some space and promptly vanishes. As Polly grapples with her bewildering situation, she clings to a few new friends to keep her going. And while she distracts herself with the heady world of luxury perfume, Polly knows she can’t keep reality at bay forever. Eventually she’s forced to confront some difficult truths: about her husband, herself, and who she really wants to be.

y404.jpg

The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson

Part mystery, part drama, The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson is the perfect weekend read to get lost in. Miranda Brooks grew up in the stacks of her eccentric Uncle Billy’s bookstore, solving the inventive scavenger hunts he created for her. But on Miranda’s twelfth birthday, Billy has a mysterious falling-out with her mother and suddenly disappears from Miranda’s life. She doesn’t hear from him again until sixteen years later when she receives unexpected news: Billy has died and left her Prospero Books, which is teetering on bankruptcy—and one final scavenger hunt. When Miranda returns to Prospero Books—now as its owner—she finds clues that Billy has hidden for her inside novels on the store’s shelves, in locked drawers of his apartment, in the name of the store itself. Miranda becomes determined to save Prospero Books and to solve Billy’s last scavenger hunt. Soon she finds herself drawn into a journey where she meets people from Billy’s past, people whose stories reveal a history that Miranda’s mother has kept hidden -and the terrible secret that tore her family apart.

y648 (5).jpg

Someday Jennifer by Risto Pakarinen

Peter is stuck. The promise of his youth has petered out into a comfortable but lonely adulthood. His career is flat, his friendships only exist on Facebook, and his romantic life is well past its expiry date. But one night, spurred on by a viewing of Back to the Future after one too many drinks, he has an idea—that he will just go back. Back to the moment when his path stretched out ahead of him; when happiness was an everyday feeling and not something to be chased. Back to when his worst problem was which pair of acid-washed jeans to wear; to when the perfect girl sat next to him in English class. Back to 1986. Throwing himself into the project of restoring his small town’s old movie theatre, he hides his true objective from everyone—to get a second chance with the first (and only true) love of his life: that perfect girl beside him in English class, Jennifer.

y404 (1).jpg

The Library of Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick

Librarian Martha Storm has always found it easier to connect with books than people -though not for lack of trying. She keeps careful lists of how to help others in her superhero-themed notebook. And yet, sometimes it feels like she’s invisible. All that changes when a book of fairy tales arrives on her doorstep. Inside, Martha finds a dedication written to her by her best friend -her grandmother Zelda- who died under mysterious circumstances years earlier. When Martha discovers a clue within the book that her grandmother may be alive, she becomes determined to discover the truth. As she delves deeper into Zelda’s past, she unwittingly reveals a family secret that will change her life forever.

Well that’s all for now Savvy Readers! I guess it’s no surprise that some of our favourite light-hearted books are about well… books! Which of these are you adding to your TBR, and which ones have you already read? Tell us in the comments on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy reading,
Marisol

Follow me on Twitter or Instagram @marisolfokes.

One thought on “Our Favourite Light-Hearted Books

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.