50 Book Pledge Featured Read: The Last Train to London

Happy Monday, Savvy Readers! What better way to brighten up your Monday than with a new 50 Book Pledge Featured Read?! This week’s Featured Read is The Last Train to London by Meg Waite Clayton, a great pre-WWII-era novel with an amazing female hero based on a true story. What more could you want?! Let’s get to it!

keepgoin

Setting the scene: The year is 1936 and we’re following a 15-year old boy named Stephan Neuman. Despite the Nazi presence in his town becoming suffocating, he still manages to re-make both the streets of Vienna and the city’s intricate underground tunnels into his own personal playground.

shocked

Stephan’s family is Jewish and practically untouchable due to their wealth and the influence they have in the city. Zofie-Helene, Stephan’s best friend, has a mother who runs a progressive anti-Nazi newspaper. As we inch closer to war and life gets complicated, Stephan’s family gets stripped of their rights and Zofie’s mother gets arrested by the Gestapo.

fearless

Meanwhile, in Austria, Truus Wijsmuller has made it her mission to help smuggle Jewish children out of the country and into other nations that will provide a safe haven for the children. Her experience becomes even more dangerous when Hilter starts to invade Austria and the neighboring countries start closing their borders to the overwhelming number of refugees. After Britain passes a measure to take in child refugees from the German Reich, Truus fearlessly approaches Adolf Eichmann to make an impossible deal… Suddenly, Truus may help six hundred children escape. The catch? She only has a week to do it.

Truus is racing against time… will she be able to save all six hundred children? That’s for you to find out after you’ve read this week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured ReadThe Last Train to London is a truly remarkable work of historical fiction, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Resistance Women, and The Ventriloquists. Based on the true, remarkable life of  Truus Wijsmuller, a Dutch woman who risked her life to save about 10,000 children, The Last Train to London is a timeless, evocative story with the emotional resonance of All The Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train. Basically, if you’re a fan of historical fiction, you do NOT want to miss this one!

Tell us what your thoughts on this book was on Twitter @SavvyReader or in the comments below.

Happy Reading

Chantel

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.