Bookmarks: October 18

Can you believe another week has gone by, Savvy Readers? I know it was short and all, but man did this one ever fly by. With the end of the week comes another installment of Bookmarks, as you all know, and we’ve got a good one for you today. Let’s get to it!

1. CBC Books reveals cover and excerpt for new Kenneth Oppel novel

If you, like me, grew up absolutely loving the Silverwing series, then you will be excited to know that superstar Canadian author Kenneth Oppel has a new book coming out! Bloom, the first novel in a brand new series perfect for fans of Stranger Things, lands in February. If you can’t wait, then you’re in luck: you can check out the animated cover reveal above, and head on over to CBC Books to check out an excerpt from the novel!

2. Eoin Colfer’s new book is already being adapted for television

giphy.gif

In other news from my childhood, Eoin Colfer, author of the beloved Artemis Fowl series, has had the rights to his newest book snatched up by MGM Studios! Highfire, set to be released at the end of January, is a hilarious novel about a vodka-drinking, Flashdance-loving dragon who lives an isolated life in the bayous of Louisiana and the adventures that ensue when he crosses path with a 15-year-old troublemaker on the run from a crooked sheriff. Got all that? It’s a lot to cover. We can’t wait to (1) read this book and (2) watch it on TV! Check out the news here.

3. The Governor General’s Awards were announced

giphy (1).gif

You know it’s officially award season when the Governor General’s Awards nominees are announced, and we can’t be more excited to see two of our favourite books of 2019 – Five Wives by Joan Thomas and Break In Case of Emergency by Brian Francis – crack the list! Nominated for Fiction and Young People’s Literature respectively, we can’t wait to see what happens next! Check out the full list of nominees here.

That’s all we’ve got for this (short) week, folks. Did we miss anything? What books are you planning on diving into this weekend? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy (weekend) reading,

Jesse

Follow me on Twitter @JesseDorey15

 

 

One thought on “Bookmarks: October 18

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.