2020 Releases We Can’t Wait For

Hi, Savvy Readers. It’s that time of year again! We know we’re supposed to be finishing up our 50 Book Pledge for 2019 but all we can think about our all the exciting books that will be released in 2020. Keep reading to get a sneak peak at some of the books we’re excited for next year!

LittleBookshopOnTheSeine.jpg

The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin
On sale January 7

When bookshop owner Sarah Smith is offered the opportunity for a job exchange with her Parisian friend Sophie, saying yes is a no-brainer—after all, what kind of romantic would turn down six months in Paris? Sarah is sure she’s in for the experience of a lifetime—days spent surrounded by literature in a gorgeous bookshop, and the chance to watch the snow fall on the Eiffel Tower. Plus, now she can meet up with her journalist boyfriend, Ridge, when his job takes him around the globe. This story is a love letter to Paris, quirky book stores and happily ever afters.

Followers

Followers by Megan Angelo
On sale January 14

An electrifying story of two ambitious friends, the dark choices they make and the profound moment that changes the meaning of privacy forever. Followers traces the paths of Orla, Floss and Marlow as they wind through time toward each other, and toward a cataclysmic event that sends America into lasting upheaval. At turns wry and tender, bleak and hopeful, this darkly funny story reminds us that even if we obsess over famous people we’ll never meet, what we really crave is genuine human connection.

MyMotherSerialKiller

My Mother, A Serial Killer by Hazel Baron & Janet Fife-Yeomans
On sale January 28, 2020

A gripping and shocking story of a serial killer mother, and the brave daughter who brought her to justice. Written by award-winning journalist Janet Fife-Yeomans, together with Hazel Baron, My Mother, A Serial Killer is both an evocative insight into the harshness of life on the fringes of Australian society in the 1950s, and a chilling story of a murderous mother and the courageous daughter who testified against her and put her in jail.

Bloom .JPG

Bloom by Kenneth Oppel
On sale February 4

The first book in bestselling author Kenneth Oppel‘s explosive new trilogy. It was just rain. But after the downpour, odd black plants begin to shoot up. Suddenly… They. Are. Everywhere. They take over fields and twine around houses. They bloom and throw off toxic pollen-and feed. Strangely, three Salt Spring Island teens seem immune. Anaya, Petra and Seth. What’s their connection? What’s their secret? A week ago, they wouldn’t have thought they had one. But they’d better figure it out fast-the invasion has already begun.

TheOtherMrs.jpg

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica
On sale February 18

Hypnotic and addictive, The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the blockbuster bestselling author of The Good Girl. Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor, Morgan Baines, is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie, who is terrified by the thought of a killer in her very own backyard. As the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of Morgan’s death. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

BirthYard

The Birth Yard by Mallory Tater
On sale March 3

In this startling and important debut, a patriarchal cult known as the Den controls female fertility and sexuality. At eighteen, each women is paired with a Match for the purpose of conceiving a child. Mallory Tater weaves an intricate narrative, equal parts suspense and action, while twisting contemporary social anxieties to dizzying extremes. She meticulously deconstructs the intricate relationships between womanhood, government and the female body. But this is no dystopian word; there is no totalitarian government. The Den exists now. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale.

EightPerfectMurders.JPG

Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson
On sale March 3

Years ago, bookseller and mystery aficionado Malcolm Kershaw compiled a list of the genre’s most unsolvable murders, those that are almost impossible to crack—which he titled “Eight Perfect Murders”. But no one is more surprised than Mal, now the owner of the Old Devils Bookshop in Boston, when an FBI agent comes knocking on his door one snowy day in February. She’s looking for information about a series of unsolved murders that look eerily similar to the killings on Mal’s old list. To protect himself, Mal begins looking into possible suspects . . . and sees a killer in everyone around him. But Mal doesn’t count on the investigation leaving a trail of death in its wake. Suddenly, a series of shocking twists leaves more victims dead—and the noose around Mal’s neck grows so tight he might never escape.

MirrorAndLight.JPG

The Mirror & the Light by Hilary Mantel
On sale March 10

England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors. A triumphant conclusion to the Thomas Cromwell trilogy, tracing the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering a defining portrait of predator and prey, of a ferocious contest between present and past, between royal will and a common man’s vision: of a modern nation making itself through conflict, passion and courage.

MyDarkVanessa.JPG

My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell
On sale March 10

Exploring the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teenage girl and her magnetic and manipulative teacher, a brilliant, all-consuming read that marks the explosive debut of an extraordinary new writer. Alternating between Vanessa’s present and her past, My Dark Vanessa juxtaposes memory and trauma with the breathless excitement of a teenage girl discovering the power her own body can wield. Thought-provoking and impossible to put down, this is a masterful portrayal of troubled adolescence and its repercussions that raises vital questions about agency, consent, complicity, and victimhood. This is an era-defining novel that brilliantly captures and reflects the shifting cultural mores transforming our relationships and society itself.

WineGirl.JPG

Wine Girl by Victoria James
On sale March 24

An affecting memoir from America’s youngest sommelier, tracing her path through the glamorous but famously toxic restaurant world. Exhilarating and inspiring, Wine Girl is the story of Victoria James breaking free from an abusive and traumatic childhood on her own terms; an ethnography of the glittering, high-octane, but notoriously corrosive restaurant industry; and above all, a love letter to the restorative and life-changing effects of good wine and good hospitality.

BoySwallowsUniverse.JPG

Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton
On sale April 7

An utterly wonderful debut novel of love, crime, and magic, set in 1980s Australia. Eli Bell’s life is complicated. His father is lost, his mother is in jail, and his stepdad is a heroin dealer. The most steadfast adult in Eli’s life is Slim—a notorious felon and national record-holder for successful prison escapes—who watches over Eli and August, Eli’s silent genius of an older brother. A story of brotherhood, true love, family, and the most unlikely of friendships, Boy Swallows Universe is the tale of an adolescent boy on the cusp of discovering the man he will be. Powerful, kinetic, and infused with originality, charm, pathos, and heart to spare, Trent Dalton‘s debut is sure to be one of the most exhilarating novels you will experience.

TheHennaArtist

The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi
On sale March 10

Escaping from an arranged and abusive marriage, seventeen-year-old Lakshmi makes her way alone from her 1950s rural village to the vibrant pink city of Jaipur. There she becomes the henna artist—and confidante—most in demand to the wealthy women of the upper class. But trusted with the secrets of the wealthy, she can never reveal her own. Vivid and compelling in its portrait of one woman’s struggle for fulfillment in a society pivoting between the traditional and the modern, The Henna Artist opens a door into a world that is at once lush and fascinating, stark and cruel. This lushly-rendered, emotional book club fiction set in post-Raj 1950s Jaipur about a young woman struggling to shape her own destiny in a world pivoting between the traditional and the modern.

GlassHotel.JPG

The Glass Hotel by Emily St. John Mandel
On sale March 24

From the award-winning author of Station Eleven, a captivating novel of money, beauty, white-collar crime, ghosts and moral compromise in which a woman disappears from a container ship off the coast of Mauritania and a massive Ponzi scheme implodes in New York, dragging countless fortunes with it. Weaving together the lives of the characters, the story moves between the ship, the skyscrapers of Manhattan and the wilderness of remote British Columbia, painting a breathtaking picture of greed and guilt, fantasy and delusion, art and the ghosts of our pasts.

TheGildedCage.JPG

The Gilded Cage by Camilla Lackberg
On sale April 7

A gripping new psychological thriller from #1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg. People would kill to have Faye von Essen’s life. She lives in an ultra-swanky apartment in the most exclusive area of Stockholm, she has a gorgeous husband who gives her everything she’s ever wanted, and she has an adorable daughter who lights up her world. The truth is that Faye’s life is far from what it seems. The truth is that Faye isn’t even her real name. And now she’s been caught out. There’s no way she’s going to go down without a fight. The only question is – who will escape with their life?

TheGermainHeiress

The German Heiress by Anika Scott
On sale April 7

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany. Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family’s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa. Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

What 2020 release are you most excited for? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader. Don’t forget to add them to your 50 Book Pledge to read shelf!

Never stop reading.

Brianna

Follow me on Twitter @briannafbenton

9 thoughts on “2020 Releases We Can’t Wait For

    1. Kelsey, I’ve read the new Emily St. John Mandel, and I cannot tell you just how special it is. You’re going to love it! – Jesse

  1. The Gilded Cage, fave author and it comes out on my birthday! The Henna Artist looks interesting too. So many good choices!

  2. I am sooo looking forward to reading The German Heiress. I have read several books on WWII and have enjoyed them all.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.