50 Book Pledge Featured Read: The Poppy Wife

2019 has been an incredible year for historical fiction. The Gown, The Quintland Sisters, Resistance Women, The Huntress… we could go on and on! That’s why we are SO excited about this week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured Read – it’s the next in a long line of amazing historical fiction reads! So, grab your coziest blanket and your most comfortable chair, because you’re not going to want to put this one down.

The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott is an unforgettable debut novel that is perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor. A sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of the World War I, The Poppy Wife is can’t-miss historical fiction at its very best! Let’s get to it, shall we?

tenor.gif

Let’s set the scene. The year is 1921. Veterans of the Great War are trying to piece together their fragmented, broken lives after returning home. Though many in her area have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie’s husband Francis has yet to come home. Presumed to have been killed in action, Edie isn’t prepared to accept that declaration. Enter Harry, Francis’s brother. He was there the day that Francis was wounded, believing that his brother had been killed. As time has passed since that day, though, Harry begins questioning his memory of what had happened. Is it possible that Francis could be lost and confused somewhere on the Western Front? Returning to France and Belgium to photograph gravesites and gather news for British wives and mothers, Harry begins searching for evidence of Francis’s fate.

giphy.gif

After receiving a mysterious photograph of Francis, however, Edie is more convinced than ever that he might still be alive. Deciding to embark on a journey of hope to find some trace of her husband, Edie and Harry’s paths cross as the truth about Francis becomes clearer and clearer. Is he truly gone? If he isn’t, then why hasn’t he come home? As is often true in these situations, the truth has a life-changing impact on their lives as they are faced with the dangers of their quest.

Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins of the Great War, and those who were desperate to find them. Perfect for fans of books like The Huntress and The GownThe Poppy Wife should be every historical fiction readers next book!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Follow us on Twitter @SavvyReader

One thought on “50 Book Pledge Featured Read: The Poppy Wife

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.