Most Anticipated January Releases

Hey, Savvy Readers! I can’t believe January is right around the corner. It seems like just yesterday we were setting our goals for the 50 Book Pledge. We’re extremely excited about all the amazing 2020 releases and our January releases are no exception. This month we have a lovely collection of contemporary, fantasy, graphic novels, and more!

December 7

LittleBookshopOnTheSeine

The Little Bookshop of the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

When bookshop owner Sarah Smith is offered the opportunity for a job exchange with her Parisian friend Sophie, Sarah is sure she’s in for the experience of a lifetime—days spent surrounded by literature in a gorgeous bookshop, and the chance to watch the snow fall on the Eiffel Tower. Plus, now she can meet up with her journalist boyfriend, Ridge, when his job takes him around the globe! But what she didn’t expect was to feel like a fish out of water in Paris. The customers are rude, her new coworkers suspicious and her relationship with Ridge has been reduced to a long-distance game of phone tag, leaving Sarah to wonder if he’ll ever put her first over his busy career. As Christmas approaches, Sarah is determined to get the shop—and her life—back in order and make her dreams of a Parisian happily-ever-after come true.

y404.jpg

The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

The Girls with No Names pulls readers into the gilded age of New York City in the 1910s, when suffragettes marched in the street, unions fought for better work conditions—and girls were confined to the House of Mercy for daring to break the rules. Home for Unwanted Girls meets The Dollhouse in this atmospheric, heartwarming story that explores not only the historical House of Mercy, but the lives—and secrets—of the girls who stayed there.

January 14

InfinitySon HC.JPG

Infinity Son by Adam Silvera

The first fantasy novel by New York Times bestselling author is a gritty, face-paced adventure about a magical war, generations in the making. Brotherhood, love, and loyalty will be put to the test, and no one will escape the fight unscathed. Adam has always included both Latinx and queer characters in his novels, and Infinity Son is no exception. An unexpected romance crackles off the page, putting queer characters in the heart of this new YA fantasy.

EndOfTheOcean.jpg

The End of the Ocean by Maja Lunde (translated by Diane Oatley)

From the author of The History of Bees comes a captivating story of the power of nature and the human spirit that explores the threat of a devastating worldwide drought, witnessed through the lives of a father, a daughter, and a woman who will risk her life to save the future. This is an evacuative tale for the search for love and connection.

Followers

Followers by Megan Angelo

An electrifying story of two ambitious friends, the dark choices they make and the profound moment that changes the meaning of privacy forever. This dual narrative story traces the paths of Orla, Floss and Marlow as they wind through time toward each other, and toward a cataclysmic event that sends America into lasting upheaval. At turns wry and tender, bleak and hopeful, this darkly funny story reminds us that even if we obsess over famous people we’ll never meet, what we really crave is genuine human connection.

January 21

CatherinesWar.jpg

Catherine’s War by Julia Villet

Billet’s middle grade graphic novel follows a Jewish girl’s gripping journey to the free zone of France. At the Sèvres Children’s Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passion—photography. Although she hasn’t heard from her parents in months, she loves the people at her school, adores capturing what she sees in pictures, and tries not to worry too much about Hitler’s war. But as France buckles under the Nazi Regime, danger closes in, and Rachel must change her name and go into hiding. Based on the author’s mother’s own experiences as a hidden child in France during World War II, Catherine’s War is one of the most accessible historical graphic novels featuring a powerful girl since Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi—perfect for fans of Zusak’s The Book Thief.

January 28

AlmostAmer hc c.JPG

Almost American Girl by Robin Ha

A powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir about a Korean-born, non-English-speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation. Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined. Almost American Girl is a deeply moving memoir about immigration, belonging, and how art can save a life, from bestselling comic artist Robin Ha.

TheSecondMidnight

The Second Midnight by Andrew Taylor

From international bestselling author Andrew Taylor comes a gripping World War II novel about a secret mission, a terrible choice, and a young boy stranded on Nazi terrain. As Europe teeters on the brink of war, Alfred Kendall is tasked with carrying out a minor mission for the British Intelligence Service. Travelling to Prague, he takes his troubled young son, Hugh, as cover. When Hitler invades Czechoslovakia, Alfred is given an ultimatum by the Czech Resistance. They will arrange for him to return to England, but only if he leaves his son Hugh behind as collateral. Hugh is soon taken under the wing of a Nazi colonel—Helmuth Scholl. But even though Scholl treats Hugh well, his son, Heinz, is suspicious of this foreigner. And as the war across the continent intensifies, they are set on a path that will ultimately lead towards destruction.

Highfire hc c.JPG

Highfire by Eoin Colfer

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series comes a hilarious and high-octane adult novel about a vodka-drinking, Flashdanceloving dragon who lives an isolated life in the bayous of Louisiana—and the raucous adventures that ensue when he crosses paths with a fifteen-year-old troublemaker on the run from a crooked sheriff. A triumphant return to the genre-bending fantasy that Eoin Colfer is so well known for, Highfire is an effortlessly clever and relentlessly funny tour-de-force of comedy and action.

MyMotherASerialKiller.jpg

My Mother, A Serial Killer by Hazel Baron & Janet Fife-Yeomans

A gripping and shocking story of a serial killer mother, and the brave daughter who brought her to justice. Dulcie Bodsworth was the unlikeliest serial killer. She was loved everywhere she went, and the townsfolk of Wilcannia, which she called home in the late 1950s, thought of her as kind and caring. The officers at the local police station found Dulcie witty and charming, and looked forward to the scones and cakes she generously baked and delivered for their morning tea. That was one side of her. Only her daughter Hazel saw the real Dulcie. And what she saw terrified her. My Mother, A Serial Killer is an evocative insight into the harshness of life on the fringes of Australian society in the 1950s, and a chilling story of a murderous mother and the courageous daughter who testified against her and put her in jail.

ArtofResistanceHC.JPG

The Art of Resistance by Justus Rosenberg

An unforgettable World War II memoir set in Nazi-occupied France and filled with romance and adventure: a former Eastern European Jew remembers his flight from the Holocaust and his extraordinary four years in the French underground. Justus Rosenberg, now 98, has taught literature at Bard College for the past fifty years. Justus’ story is a powerful saga of bravery, daring, adventure, and survival with the soul of a spy thriller. Reflecting on his past, Justus sees his life as a confluence of circumstances. As he writes, “I survived the war through a rare combination of good fortune, resourcefulness, optimism, and, most important, the kindness of many good people.”

y648.jpg

Home Truths by Susan Lewis

International bestselling author Susan Lewis’s riveting, unforgettable novel of a woman determined to protect her children—at all costs. Alternating between Angie’s blissful life as a young mother and her present-day nightmare, Forgive Me is a searing exploration of the lengths one mother will go to survive and protect her children.

Did any of these books catch your eye? What January release are you excited for? Let us know in the comments below or on Twittter @SavvyReader.

Never stop reading.

Brianna

Follow me on Twitter @briannafbenton!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.