Most Anticipated Historical Fiction of the First Half of 2020

Happy Wednesday, Savvy Readers! If you’re anything like me, you love a little history and a whole lot of drama which makes historical fiction an alluring and infinitely entertaining genre! Well, I’ve got good news because there are some AMAZING historical fiction novels hitting shelves this year and I’ve got the scoop on the ones you definitely want to keep your eyes out for. Prepare your TBRs book nerds because your list is about to get a whole lot longer!

9781525804663_67af0

The Grace Kelly Dress by Brenda Janowitz (March 3, 2020)

Two years after Grace Kelly’s royal wedding, her iconic dress is still all the rage in Paris—and one replica, and the secrets it carries, will inspire three generations of women to forge their own paths in life and in love in this beguiling new novel from Brenda Janowitz.

y404.jpg

The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi (March 3, 2020)

Vivid and compelling in its portrait of one woman’s struggle for fulfillment in a society pivoting between the traditional and the modern, The Henna Artist opens a door into a world that is at once lush and fascinating, stark and cruel.

y648.jpg

The Mirror & the Light by Hilary Mantel (March 10, 2020)

With The Mirror and the Light, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies.

 

9780008390563_2a4de

Sisters of War by Lana Kortchik (April 7, 2020)

Can their bond survive under the shadow of occupation? For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife comes this unforgettable tale of love, loss, family, and the power of hope.

9780062937728_e915e

The German Heiress by Anika Scott (April 7, 2020)

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

y648 (2).jpg

The Library of Legends by Janie Chang (April 28, 2020)

From the author of Three Souls and Dragon Springs Road comes a captivating historical novel in which a convoy of student refugees travel across China, fleeing the hostilities of a brutal war with Japan.

9781443461207_82b12

The War Widow by Tara Moss (May 5, 2020)

The war may be officially over, but journalist Billie Walker’s search for a missing young German immigrant plunges her right back into the danger and drama she thought she’d left behind in Europe. A thrilling tale of courage and secrets set in glamorous post-war Sydney.

9780008392383_abc06

All We Left Behind by Danielle R. Graham (May 5, 2020)

Vancouver 1941. As the war rages around the world, Hitler’s fury is yet to be felt on the peaceful shores of Mayne Island. Sweethearts Hayden and Chidori are in love. But everything changes after Pearl Harbor. Now seen as the enemy, Chidori and her family are forced into an internment camp. Powerless to help them, Hayden joins the air force to bring about an end to this devastating war – the thought of Chidori is all that keeps him alive. Can they both survive long enough to be reunited? Or will the war be the only thing to separate their love?

9780062964052_c9924

Daughter of the Reich by Louise Fein (May 12, 2020)

As the dutiful daughter of a high-ranking Nazi officer, Hetty Heinrich is keen to play her part in the glorious new Thousand Year Reich. But she never imagines that all she believes and knows about her world will come into stark conflict when she encounters Walter, a friend from the past, who stirs dangerous feelings in her. Confused and conflicted, Hetty doesn’t know whom she can trust and where she can turn to, especially when she discovers that someone has been watching her.

9780062885487_04dd1

The Queen’s Secret by Karen Harper (May 19, 2020)

If you love Jennifer Robson or The Crown you will love New York Times bestselling author Karen Harper’s novel about Elizabeth, The Queen Mother! 1939. As the wife of King George VI and the mother of the future queen, Elizabeth—“the queen mother”—shows a warm, smiling face to the world. But it’s no surprise that Hitler himself calls her the “Most Dangerous Woman in Europe.” For behind that soft voice and kindly demeanor is a will of steel.

9781443461023_958d5

Midnight Train to Prague by Carol Windley (May 9, 2020)

An unforgettable tale of what we owe to those we love, and those we have left behind from Carol Windley, author of the Scotiabank Giller Prize-finalist Home Schooling.

9780008376048_b7c81

The Secret Messenger by Mandy Robotham (June 16, 2020)

The highly awaited new novel from the #1 Globe and Mail bestselling author of The German Midwife, Mandy Robotham. Set between German-occupied 1940s Venice and modern-day London, this is a fascinating tale of the bravery of everyday women in the darkest corners of WWII.

9780778309338_8cc81

The Black Swan of Paris by Karen Robards (June 30, 2020)

For fans of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a thrilling standalone by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards about a celebrated singer in WWII occupied France who joins the Resistance to save her estranged family from being killed in a German prison.

9780062938015_e59dc

Miss Graham’s Cold War Cookbook by Celia Rees

A striking historical novel about an ordinary young British woman sent to uncover a network of spies and war criminals in post-war Germany. With a unique, compelling premise, Miss Graham’s Cold War Cookbook is a beautifully crafted and gripping novel about daring, betrayal, and female friendship.

9780778361022_82189

The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turbull (July 21, 2020)

An irresistible historical debut, set in the glamorous world of British and American royalty in the 1920s, based on the true story of the woman who owned Prince Edward’s heart before introducing him to her dear friend Wallis. Perfect for fans of  Jennifer Robson’s The Gown.

Well Savvy Readers, I hope you enjoyed this list of exciting new historical fiction releases headed your way! Tell me, which of these titles are you most excited to read, and how many have you added to your TBR? Comment below or tweet us @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!
Marisol

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.