11 Books to Get You Through the Daylight Savings Slump

Happy Tuesday, Savvy readers! It’s been a few days since the clocks went ahead, and I, for one, am still feeling the loss of that sweet, sweet hour. How are you feeling after the time change? Whether you’re feeling great or simply exhausted, we’ve got just the thing to get you through the rest of the week! Here are 11 must reads for your TBRs that’ll perk you up and help you power through this slump.

MyDarkVanessa

My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell

Alternating between Vanessa’s present and her past, My Dark Vanessa juxtaposes memory and trauma with the breathless excitement of a teenage girl discovering the power her own body can wield. Thought-provoking and impossible to put down, this is a masterful portrayal of troubled adolescence and its repercussions that raises vital questions about agency, consent, complicity, and victimhood.

Mirror&Light

The Mirror and The Light by Hilary Mantel

Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She traces the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering a defining portrait of predator and prey, of a ferocious contest between present and past, between royal will and a common man’s vision: of a modern nation making itself through conflict, passion and courage.

y404

The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi

Escaping from an abusive marriage, seventeen-year-old Lakshmi makes her way alone to the vibrant 1950s pink city of Jaipur. There she becomes the most highly requested henna artist—and confidante—to the wealthy women of the upper class. But trusted with the secrets of the wealthy, she can never reveal her own… Vivid and compelling in its portrait of one woman’s struggle for fulfillment in a society pivoting between the traditional and the modern, The Henna Artist opens a door into a world that is at once lush and fascinating, stark and cruel.

y648

The Birth Yard by Mallory Tater

The Birth Yard is a gripping story of a young woman’s rebellion against the rules that control her body. Mallory Tater weaves an intricate narrative, equal parts suspense and action, while twisting contemporary social anxieties to dizzying extremes. A startling and important debut novel, The Birth Yard echoes Margaret Atwood’s dark and cautionary classic The Handmaid’s Tale. But this is no dystopian world; there is no totalitarian government. The Den exists now.

GraceKellyDress

The Grace Kelley Dress by Brenda Janowitz

Two years after Grace Kelly’s royal wedding, her iconic dress is still all the rage in Paris – and one replica, and the secrets it carries, will inspire three generations of women to forge their own paths in life and in love. As the lives of these three women come together in surprising ways, the revelation of the dress’s history collides with long-buried family heartaches. They’ll have to confront the past before they can embrace the beautiful possibilities of the future.

y648 (1)

Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson

Years ago, bookseller and mystery aficionado Malcolm Kershaw compiled a list of the genre’s most unsolvable murders, those that are almost impossible to crack—which he titled “Eight Perfect Murders”—chosen from the best of the best. One snowy day, an FBI agent comes knocking on his door looking for information about a series of unsolved murders that look eerily similar to the killings on Mal’s old list. But the FBI agent isn’t the only one interested in this bookseller. A killer is out there, watching his every move.

9780063022737_66587

Wine Girl by Victoria James

Exhilarating and inspiring, Wine Girl is the memoir of a young woman breaking free from an abusive and traumatic childhood on her own terms; an ethnography of the glittering, high-octane, but notoriously corrosive restaurant industry; and above all, a love letter to the restorative and life-changing effects of good wine and good hospitality. Perfect for fans of Educated or Kitchen Confidential!

y648 (7)

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich

Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich’s  grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor, and depth of feeling of a master craftsman.

TheOtherMrs

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

Propulsive and addictive, and perfect for fans of “You,” The Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl. Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor Morgan Baines is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

Apartment49

The Woman in Apartment 49 by Ross Armstrong

Keen bird-watcher, Lily Gullick can’t help spying on her neighbors. Until one day Lily sees something suspicious through her binoculars, and soon her elderly neighbor Jean is found dead. Convinced of foul play, she knows she has to act. But her interference is not going unnoticed, and as she starts to get close to the truth, her own life comes under threat. But can Lily really trust everything she sees?

OrphanThief

The Orphan Thief by Glynis Peters

As Hitler’s bombs rain down on a battered and beleaguered Britain, Ruby Shadwell is dealt the most devastating blow – her entire family lost during the Coventry Blitz. Alone and with the city in chaos, Ruby is determined to survive this war and rebuild her life. A chance encounter with street urchin Tommy gives Ruby just the chance she needs… Can love bloom amidst the ruins? Or will the war take Ruby’s last chance at happiness too?

feelingbetter

Wow! What an incredible, diverse list of books to help soothe your daylight savings blues! I know which books are at the top of my TBR list, which books are you most excited for Savvy Readers? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!

Jamie

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “11 Books to Get You Through the Daylight Savings Slump

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.