Fresh Reads for Spring

Happy Wednesday Savvy Readers! Maybe it’s just me, but this week feels exceptionally long. Fortunately for all of us change is in the air and spring is just around the corner! With the new season in mind, I’ve put together a list of some fresh reads, perfect for spring!

9780062917188_d3235

The Operator by Gretchen Berg

Guaranteed to make you laugh (and cry!) The Operator is a clever, surprising, and ultimately moving debut novel, set in a small Midwestern town in the early 1950s, about a nosy switchboard operator who overhears gossip involving her own family, and the unravelling that discovery sets into motion, perfect for fans of The Help.

9781443458795_663b5

Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls

Looking for something a little lighter? Owen Nicholls has you covered! For film projectionist Nick, love should mirror what he sees on the big screen. And when he falls for Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does. For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job splicing film reels together in the local cinema. Life seemed . . . picture-perfect. But now it’s 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick’s trying to figure out where it all went wrong. With Ellie gone and his life far from the happy ending he imagined, Nick wonders if their romance could ever again be as perfect as it was the night they met.

9780062841124_9595b

Resistance Women by Jennifer Chiaverini

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, an enthralling historical saga that recreates the danger, romance, and sacrifice of an era and brings to life one courageous, passionate American—Mildred Fish Harnack—and her circle of women friends who waged a clandestine battle against Hitler in Nazi Berlin. Inspired by actual events, Resistance Women is an enthralling, unforgettable story of ordinary people determined to resist the rise of evil, sacrificing their own lives and liberty to fight injustice and defend the oppressed. If you still haven’t had the chance to read Resistance Women, now is your chance!

9780062909879_99f14

The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa

A wedding planner left at the altar? Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials. Marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him. Soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again…

9780062909077_fbbd8

Separation Anxiety by Laura Zigman

Judy never intended to start wearing the dog. But when she stumbled across her son Teddy’s old baby sling during a halfhearted basement cleaning, something in her snapped. So: the dog went into the sling, Judy felt connected to another living being, and she’s repeated the process every day since. Wickedly funny and surprisingly tender, Separation Anxiety offers a frank portrait of middle-aged limbo, examining the ebb and flow of life’s most important relationships. Tapping into the insecurities and anxieties that most of us keep under wraps, and with a voice that is at once gleefully irreverent and genuinely touching, Laura Zigman has crafted a new classic for anyone taking fumbling steps toward happiness.

y648.jpg

Writers & Lovers by Lily King

Writers & Lovers follows Casey—a smart and achingly vulnerable protagonist—in the last days of a long youth, a time when every element of her life comes to a crisis.Written with King’s trademark humour, heart and intelligence, Writers & Lovers is a transfixing novel that explores the terrifying and exhilarating leap between the end of one phase of life and the beginning of another.

y648 (1)

Secret Lives of Mothers and Daughters by Anita Kushwaha

A breathtaking novel about the ties that bind mothers and daughters together and the secrets that tear them apart. Three mothers—each bound by love, deceit and a young woman who connects them all. Secret Lives of Mothers & Daughters is an intergenerational novel about family, duty and the choices we make in the name of love.

9780062938558_0d1bf

Highfire by Eoin Colfer

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series comes a hilarious and high-octane adult novel about a vodka-drinking, Flashdance-loving dragon who lives an isolated life in the bayous of Louisiana—and the raucous adventures that ensue when he crosses paths with a fifteen-year-old troublemaker on the run from a crooked sheriff.

second best

Second Best by Jessica Dettmann

Going from one child to two is never all that easy for a family, but when Emma’s husband simultaneously fathers a third child three doors up the street, things get very tricky very fast. No longer is it enough for Emma to be the best wife and mother. Now she needs to be the best ex-wife and the best part-time parent to her ex’s love child—and that’s before she even thinks about adding a new bloke to the mix. Set in an upwardly mobile, ultra-competitive suburb, this is a funny, biting, heartwarming modern comedy that looks at the roles we play, how we compete and what happens when we dare to strive for second-best.

Well, that’s all I have for you today Savvy Readers! Tell me, which of these fresh spring reads are you picking up first?! Comment below or tweet us @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!
Marisol

 

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.