Books We Finally Have Time To Read

After over a month of social distancing, I feel like I’m finally getting settled into my routine in our new normal and I hope you are too! Whether you’re off work completely or working from home, I’m sure you’ve felt like you have a lot more free time on your hands, especially on your days off. I know that I have! And I feel like there’s no better way to use this extra time than with reading books we’ve been putting off because of their daunting page count. So here’s a list of books I recommend you pick up now that we finally have time to read them.

The Thomas Cromwell Trilogy by Hillary Mantel

With a vast array of characters, overflowing with incident, the Thomas Cromwell Trilogy re-creates an era when the personal and political were separated by a hairbreadth, where success brings unlimited power but a single failure means death. This series includes Wolf Hall, Bring Up the Bodies, and The Mirror & the Light.

Night Watchman hc c

The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich

Based on the extraordinary life of Louise Erdrich’s grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death with lightness and gravity and unfolds with the elegant prose, sly humor, and depth of feeling of a master craftsman.

The Sigma Force Series by James Rollins

Sigma Force, an elite covert arm of the US Defence Department is made up of former Special Forces who are trained experts in various scientific fields. This 15-part series starts with Sandstorm and finishes with The Last Odyssey, so it’ll keep you busy for quite some time. It also includes 6 novellas!

Apeirogon

Apeirogon by Colum McCann

From celebrated Irish writer Colum McCann comes a dazzling novel set in Occupied Palestine and Israel. The political situation that has riven the region for more than seventy years in a completely new light using a fascinating blend of real events and people.

RussiansAmongUs_hc

Russians Among Us by Gordon Corera

With intrigue that rivals the best le Carré novels, Russians Among Us tells the explosive story of Russia’s espionage efforts against the United States and the West—from the end of the Cold War to the present and the significant threat of hacking the 2020 election.

ChestnutMan pb c

The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup

From the creator of the hit television show The Killing comes a thriller about a psychopath whose calling card is a “chestnut man”—a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts—which he leaves at each bloody crime scene.

NewGirl hc c

The New Girl by Daniel Silva

Filled with dark humor, breathtaking twists of plot, and an unforgettable cast of characters, The New Girl is both a thrilling, page-turning tale of entertainment and a sophisticated study of political alliances and great-power rivalries in a dangerous world. Plus, there have been a whopping 19 (with the 20th on the way!) books in the Gabriel Allon series, so this will be sure to keep you busy.

The Last Kingdom Series by Bernard Cornwell

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones! This epic bestselling series—about when the Vikings are at war with the Saxons—will keep you busy until the final book goes on sale in October. You can read this series starting with The Last Kingdom up until Sword of Kings in preparation for the series finale, War Lord. Plus, you can watch the TV adaptation on Netflix with season 4 airing this week!

And we can’t forget about the classics…

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings trilogy and The Hobbit are from an epic fantasy world that’s perfect to fill your time with. Enjoy these classic books about Middle Earth with their brand new covers!

american gods HC c

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

A perennial favorite of readers worldwide, American Gods tells the story of ex-con Shadow Moon, who emerges from prison and is recruited to be bodyguard, driver, and errand boy for the enigmatic Mr. Wednesday. So begins a dark and strange road trip full of fantastical adventures and a host of eccentric characters.

ChronicleNarnia PB c

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Epic battles between good and evil, fantastic creatures, betrayals, heroic deeds, and friendships won and lost all come together in this unforgettable world, which has been enchanting readers of all ages for decades.

What books have you decided to pick up now that you have extra time due to social distancing? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Never stop reading.

Brianna

Follow me on twitter @briannafbenton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.