Books to Helps Us Calm Our Anxieties

Happy Wednesday Savvy Readers! Are you learning to live with a new level of anxiety? If you’re anything like me, chances are you’ve found the upending of your regular routines very stressful and even anxiety-inducing, and that’s okay! Anxiety is such a natural response to change and I’ve found that the right books can go a long way to helping calm my anxieties. That’s why I’ve put together a list of the perfect books for calming your anxieties, from light-hearted reads to empowering self-help!

y450-274

First, We Make the Beast Beautiful by Sarah Wilson

The Chinese believe that before you can conquer a beast, you must first make it beautiful. For Sarah Wilson, this Chinese proverb became the key to understanding her own lifelong struggle with anxiety. In her new book, Wilson directs her intense focus onto her lifetime companion, looking at the triggers and treatments, the fashions and fads. She reads widely and interviews fellow sufferers, mental health experts, philosophers, and even the Dalai Lama. Practical and poetic, wise and funny, First, We Make the Beast Beautiful is a small book with a big heart that encourages the myriad souls who dance with this condition to embrace it as a part of who they are.

y450-274 (1)

If Only by Kate Eberlen

If you’re in need of an uplifting read, look no further than Kate Eberlen‘s If Only! A witty and startling poignant story about two lives crisscrossing over the years, If Only is a novel about identity, secrets, passion and dance—and the indefinable collision of physical, emotional and intellectual excitement that we call falling in love.

y450-274 (2)

Let That Sh*t Go by Nina Purewal and Kate Petriw

Life is stressful as f*ck on a regular day, much less during a pandemic. But it doesn’t have to be. In Let That Sh*t Go, Kate Petriw and Nina Purewal share the wisdom they’ve gained through decades of practicing and teaching others to find peace of mind no matter how busy they are. Learn to put your life in perspective, take each day one step at a time and steal moments of calm amid the chaos. And remember: it’s not worth holding onto that sh*t.

y450-274 (4)

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy

In uncertain times Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together. Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, this modern classic is sure to be treasured for generations to come and is not only a thought-provoking, discussion-worthy story, but an object of art.

y450-274 (3)

Rest, Refocus, Recharge by Greg Wells

In a 24/7 world, it can be a real challenge to get proper rest and give your mind and body the opportunity to fully recharge. In this new book, Dr. Greg Wells outlines how small changes in the way you rest, refocus and recharge can help you improve your mental health, prevent illness and deliver optimal results. In high-performance athletic circles, “deliberate recovery” practices are the secret weapon of the very best. But you don’t have to be an elite athlete to benefit from these strategies.

y450-274 (5)

If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

Bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. When her partner suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your fake boyfriend…

y450-274 (6)

My Wife Said You May Want to Marry Me by Jason B. Rosenthal

In March 2017, Amy Rosenthal penned an op-ed piece for the New York Times’ “Modern Love” column. It appeared ten days before her death from ovarian cancer. A heartbreaking, wry, brutally honest, and creative play on a personal ad—in which a dying wife encouraged her husband to go on and find happiness after her demise—the column quickly went viral. In My Wife Said You May Want to Marry Me, Jason describes what came next: his commitment to respecting Amy’s wish, even as he struggled with her loss. My Wife Said You May Want to Marry Me is a poignant, unreserved, and inspiring story of great love, the aftermath of a marriage ended too soon, and how a surviving partner eventually found a new perspective on life’s joys in the wake of tremendous loss.

y404

The Grace Kelly Dress by Brenda Janowitz

A fast-paced and totally entertaining read, two years after Grace Kelly’s royal wedding, her iconic dress is still all the rage in Paris—and one replica, and the secrets it carries, will inspire three generations of women to forge their own paths in life and in love. An enchanting multi-generational novel, Brenda Janowitz always leaves us wanting more!

y450-274 (7)

Things No One Else Can Teach Us by Humble the Poet

While we can’t control life (and nothing has made this more clear than current events!), we have the power to control how we react to it. Things No One Else Can Teach Us reminds us that we have the power to transform the way we respond to everyday challenges and ultimately be our best selves. From the international bestselling author of Unlearn, Humble the Poet speaks new truths about how we can create silver linings from our most difficult moments.

Well Savvy Readers, that’s all I have for you today! I hope these books will help calm some of your anxieties during these trying times. Stay safe and happy reading!

Marisol

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.