My Book Pledge Featured Read: Call Your Daughter Home

Happy Monday Savvy Readers! I don’t know about you, but something about a new book and a new week gets me excited, and this week’s featured read is one you are definitely going to want to add to your My Book Pledge shelf because it is none other than Deb Spera‘s Call Your Daughter Home!

Perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and The Secret Life of Bees, this incredible literary debut follows three Southern women in what is truly an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

Pic1

Our story begins in 1924, Branchville, South Carolina where three women have come to a crossroads.  Gertrude, a mother of four, must make a tough decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude’s aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. While Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle.

Pic2

Although these three women seemingly have nothing in common, as the story unfolds we see them unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued their small town, and discover strength in the bond that ties women together.

Pic3

Told in the incredibly vivid voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood. Beautifully written, expertly crafted, and stunningly compulsive, Call Your Daughter Home is the next work of literary fiction that you do NOT want to miss. So, if you’re looking for a wild literary ride, you definitely want to add this one to your TBR!

Don’t forget to add Call Your Daughter Home to your My Book Pledge shelf, and let us know if you’re picking up this one either in the comments below or tweet us @SavvyReader! Also: reading this Featured Read will earn you a My Book Pledge badge, so there’s even more reason to read it!

Happy reading!
Marisol

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.