Great New Releases You Might’ve Missed!

In my opinion, the best way to discover new books is to browse the shelves of local bookstores. I’ve found some of my absolute favourite books – books that I otherwise would’ve missed – thanks to this method. Since Indigo locations and indies alike have all been closed for the better half of the last two months (and are thankfully starting to re-open now!) and, let’s face it, COVID-19 news has dominated the wave lengths and social channels, we thought it would be helpful to round up some of the new releases over the last two months that you might’ve missed!

MARCH

184619

Soot by Dan Vyleta

The electrifying sequel to the national bestseller Smoke—bringing readers back to a world Entertainment Weekly called “part Dickens, part dystopia and totally immersive.”

y648

If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

I know this one was a Featured Read back in March, but we’re giving it some love here again! Bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

y648 (1)

Stay Where I Can See You by Katrina Onstad

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Liane Moriarty and Zoe Whittall, Katrina Onstad’s new novel explores whether our most intimate relationships can survive our most unforgivable actions. Stay Where I Can See You is a penetrating story about the pendulum swing of fortune, the ferocity of mother–daughter devotion and the stories we tell—and withhold—because of love.

APRIL

y648 (2)

If Only by Kate Eberlen

Kate Eberlen, the bestselling author of Miss You, returns with a serendipitous and modern romance. For fans of David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes, If Only is the story of two people who fall in love and the secrets that tear them apart.

y404

The Lost Orphan by Stacey Halls

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars comes this captivating story of mothers and daughters, class and power, and love against the greatest of odds.

y648 (3)

Something She’s Not Telling Us by Darcey Bell

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Simple Favor comes an electrifying domestic thriller of how one woman’s life is turned upside down when her brother brings his new girlfriend to visit—and no one is telling the truth about who they really are.

y648 (4)

Five Little Indians by Michelle Good

With compassion and insight, Five Little Indians chronicles the desperate quest of five residential school survivors to come to terms with their past and, ultimately, find a way forward.

y648 (5)

No Going Back by Sheena Kamal

From award-winning author Sheena Kamal comes the third novel featuring the brilliant, fearless, deeply flawed Nora Watts whose vendetta against a triad enforcer escalates when he places a target on her daughter’s back.

y404 (1)

The Secrets of Love Story Bridge by Phaedra Patrick

Brimming with Phaedra Patrick‘s signature charm and a sparkling cast of characters, The Secrets of Love Story Bridge follows one man’s journey to unlock his heart and discover new beginnings in the unlikeliest of places.

MAY

y404 (2)

Family for Beginners by Sarah Morgan

Sarah Morgan, the bestselling author of The Christmas Sisters, returns with a life-affirming exploration of love, loss, and how families come in all shapes and sizes…

y404 (3)

The Imperfects by Amy Meyerson

From the bestselling author of The Bookshop of Yesterdays comes a captivating new novel about a priceless inheritance that leads one family on a life-altering pursuit of the truth.

y648 (6)

Daughters of Smoke and Fire by Ava Home

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman’s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother, in the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer.

y648 (7)

Shakespeare for Squirrels by Christopher Moore

Shakespeare meets Dashiell Hammett in this wildly entertaining murder mystery from New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore—an uproarious, hardboiled take on the Bard’s most performed play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, featuring Pocket, the hero of Fool and The Serpent of Venice, along with his sidekick, Drool, and pet monkey, Jeff.

y648 (8)

These Women by Ivy Pochoda

From the award-winning author of Wonder Valley and Visitation Street comes a serial killer story like you’ve never seen before—a literary thriller of female empowerment and social change. Written with beauty and grit, tension and grace, These Women is a glorious display of storytelling, a once-in-a-generation novel.

y648 (9)

The Wife Stalker by Liv Constantine

The bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish returns with a psychological thriller, filled with chilling serpentine twists, about a woman fighting to hold onto the only family she’s ever loved—and how far she’ll go to preserve it.

There you have it, Savvy Readers… some of the best new releases that might’ve flown under your radar! What’s the best book you’ve ever stumbled upon while browsing the shelves at your local bookstore? What’s the last great book you read? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.