Pride Month Reads

Happy Tuesday Savvy Readers! June is here and Pride Month has officially started which means it’s the perfect time to stack your TBR with LGBTQ+ reads! From children’s books to light-hearted rom-coms and thought-provoking memoirs, Pride is an all-ages celebration and I’ve put together a list that has something for everyone!

 y450-274 (8)

My Life as a Unicorn by Amrou Al-Kadhi

From a god-fearing Muslim boy enraptured with their mother to a vocal, queer drag queen estranged from their family, this is a heart-breaking and hilarious memoir about the author’s fight to be true to themself.

y450-274 (12)

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

From Stonewall and Lambda Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

y450-274 (9)

Over the Top by Jonathan Van Ness

A laugh-and-cry-out-loud memoir from the beloved star of Netflix’s Queer Eye, Jonathan Van Ness!

y450-274 (14)

I’ll Be the One by Lyla Lee

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity—perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

y404

Broken People by Sam Lansky

A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney.

9780062990297_2db2a

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

A Stonewall Book Award winner and fierce coming-of-age novel in verse about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds.

y450-274 (10)

Swimming in the Dark by Tomasz Jedrowski

Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.

y450-274 (16)

Rainbow Revolutionaries by Sarah Prager

This groundbreaking, pop-culture-infused LGBTQ+ illustrated biography collection takes readers on an eye-opening journey through the lives of fifty influential queer figures who have made a mark on every century of human existence.

y450-274 (18)

Like A Love Story by Abdi Nazemian

A bighearted, epic love letter to the LGBTQ community about three friends falling in love and finding their voices as activists during the height of the AIDS crisis.

y450-274 (11)

Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan

An intimate, bracingly intelligent debut novel about a millennial Irish ex-pat in Hong Kong who becomes entangled in a love triangle with a male banker and a female lawyer. This book is generating a TON of buzz, and has even drawn comparisons to Sally Rooney’s Normal People, so you’ll definitely want to keep it on your radar.

9780062943170_a2d7c

Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

A coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

y450-274 (13)

Peanut Goes for the Gold by Jonathan Van Ness

Jonathan Van Ness, the star of Netflix’s hit show Queer Eye, brings his signature humour and positivity to his empowering first picture book. Peanut Goes for the Gold is a charming, funny, and heartfelt picture book that follows the adventures of Peanut, a gender nonbinary guinea pig who does everything with their own personal flair!

y450-274 (15)

The Fire Never Goes Out by Noelle Stevenson

From Noelle Stevenson, the New York Times bestselling author-illustrator of Nimona, comes a captivating, honest illustrated memoir that finds her turning an important corner in her creative journey—and inviting readers along for the ride.

Well, Savvy Readers, that’s all I have for you today! Which books would YOU add to the list? Tell us in the comments below or on Twitter @SavvyReader how many of these LGBTQ+ reads are on your TBR, and what you’re doing to celebrate Pride Month!

Happy reading,
Marisol.

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.