Bookmarks: June 5

Happy Friday Savvy Readers! It’s been a busy week and I know I’m looking forward to the weekend! So without further ado, here’s what you might have missed this week!

1. Lisa Jenn Bigelow’s Hazel’s Theory of Evolution won the Lambda Literary Award in the LGBTQ Children’s/Young Adult category!

Screen Shot 2020-06-05 at 1.27.26 PM

A tender middle-grade novel following a precocious girl whose life is turned upside down in her last year of middle school, for over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards (also known as the “Lammy Awards”) have identified and honoured the best lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender books. Learn more about the awards and watch Lisa accept her award here.

2. Reese Witherspoon has chosen The Guest List as one of her June Book Club picks!

9780062868930_1495f

A deliciously wicked atmospheric thriller about a wedding party turned deadly, Lucy Foley’s latest literary offering, The Guest List, is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie! Selected alongside Austin Channing’s memoir I’m Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness, our June TBR is already filling up! See Reese’s announcement here.

3. HarperCollins Canada published an anti-racist reading list in support of the Black Lives Matter movement and it’s perfect for all ages!

download-1-copy

The extensive list includes children’s and middle-grade novels for young readers and links to Canadian Black-owned bookstores. Check it out here!

Well Savvy Readers, that’s all for today! Tell me which of these literary tidbits you found most exciting below in the comments or tweet us @SavvyReader!

Happy reading,
Marisol

 

One thought on “Bookmarks: June 5

  1. I can’t believe I had read many books by black authors–I picked them for their story not the colour of the author’s skin. I think we need to support all minority authors but still only read if we love their story.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.