My Book Pledge Featured Read: The Black Swan of Paris

Happy Monday, Savvy Readers! It’s a gross, muggy one out here in Ontario, so our plan for the day involves staying inside with the AC pumping and a great book. If you’re looking to ride out this heat wave in a similar manner, we have just the book for you!

Known for crime thrillers and romance novels, Karen Robards has officially entered the historical fiction game with her remarkable novel The Black Swan of Paris! Perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff, and especially perfect for fans of Jennifer Chiaverini‘s Resistance WomenThe Black Swan of Paris is this week’s My Book Pledge Featured Read and should jump to the top of your TBR pile!

giphy (3).gif

Paris, 1944: Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the singer’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance. When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, however, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion.

giphy (4)

The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary—including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected—and in time to save Lillian’s life.

giphy (5).gif

Along with Kate Quin, Pam Jenoff, and Jennifer Chiaverini, we think The Black Swan of Paris is also perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Women in the Castle! An exquisite portrait of three women’s strength, courage, and capacity for unconditional love, The Black Swan of Paris is the rare historical fiction novel that you won’t be able to put down and will be thinking about long after you’ve finished it.

The Black Swan of Paris is this week’s My Book Pledge Featured Read! Add it to your shelf today!

What books are you reading this week, Savvy Readers? Let us know in the comments or on Twitter @SavvyReader!

Happy reading,

Jesse

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.