11 Books We Wish We Could Stream

Happy Wednesday Savvy Readers! I don’t know about you, but every once in a while I read a book I just know would be amazing as a TV show or movie! As bookworms, we’re always nervous whenever we hear about a new adaptation in the works, but the books on this list 100% deserve adaptations we’re already dying to stream!

y648 (9)

Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson

A tale of psychological suspense following a bookseller who finds himself at the centre of an FBI investigation, Peter Swanson‘s Eight Perfect Murders would make an incredible movie adaptation, sure to thrill fans of the mystery genre! A twisty tale, tailor-made for super sleuths, this book references a ton of classic mysteries and definitely has the dark and dangerous aesthetic required of the best thrillers!

y648 (1)

Memorial Drive by Natasha Trethewey

A chillingly personal and exquisitely wrought memoir, Memorial Drive is the story of a daughter reckoning with the brutal murder of her mother at the hands of her former stepfather. A compelling memoir that’s impossible to put down, this is one of those stories that deserves to be told time and time again. I’m dying to stream a documentary or movie based on Natasha’s memoir, and I have a feeling that a lot of fans of true crime would too!

y648 (2)

The Pull of the Stars by Emma Donoghue

With one fantastic adaptation already under her belt for her book Room, Emma Donoghue is back with one of the finest pieces of pandemic fiction I’ve read in ages! Set over three days in a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu in 1918 Dublin, I can already imagine how stunning a TV adaptation of her latest book The Pull of the Stars would be (and perfect for fans of Call the Midwife!).

y648 (10)

Dark August by Katie Tallo

A tightly-paced thriller about small-town corruption, murder, and mayhem, Katie Tallo‘s debut thriller Dark August is ripe for a drama series following Gus Monet who returns home, determined to find out the truth about what happened to her mother, a disgraced police detective!

y648 (3)

The Boys’ Club by Erica Katz

Sex and power in the halls of corporate America? This book based on the author’s own experiences working at a high-powered law firm in New York City needs an adaptation to rival shows like Scandal and Suits! Fortunately for us, there’s a good chance that Netflix will deliver because this page-turning debut has already been optioned by them! Here’s your heads up to read it before it starts streaming because there are so many juicy details and drama in this book there’s no way an adaptation will be able to fit them all!

y648 (8)

The Order by Daniel Silva

If you love spy movies as much as I do, chances are you’re hoping for an adaptation of Daniel Silva‘s books, and his latest thriller featuring the legendary spy Gabriel Allon! Silva’s books are filled with political intrigue, history, and suspense and The Order is no exception, following Gabriel Allon all the way to Rome where Pope Paul VII sudden death has left his loyal secretary very suspicious.

y648 (4)

Miss Graham’s Cold War Cookbook by Celia Rees

Fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel like me would no doubt be overjoyed with an adaptation of Miss Graham’s Cold War Cookbook! Taking place in the wake of World War II, the book follows Edith Graham who applies for a position with the British Control Commission for Germany, overseeing their zone of occupation. Hired on as a spy, the unassuming Miss Graham is soon charged with hunting down some of Britain’s most-wanted war criminals under the guise of writing a cookbook. I have a feeling an adaptation of this book would be incredible, and the period costumes to die for!

y648 (5)

The Aunt Who Wouldn’t Die by Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay

A hilarious and heartwarming tale of love, family, and freedom centred around three generations of Bengali women, The Aunt Who Wouldn’t Die is the perfect book for a binge-able sitcom adaptation! The story follows three generations of women, each of whom surprise and defy expectations at every turn and infused with just the right touch of magical realism.

y648 (6)

Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

If you’re a fan of rom-coms on (and off!) screen chances are you’d love a movie adaptation of Take a Hint, Dani Brown! Talia Hibbert‘s newest rom-com follows a young woman named Danika Brown who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him “rescuing” her from their office building goes viral… Perfect for easy reading (and streaming), here’s hoping this one gets its own adaptation soon!

y648 (7)

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

Agatha Christie has a few adaptations under her belt, and I can’t see why Lucy Foley doesn’t! The Guest List is her latest thriller and is highly evocative of some of Agatha Christie’s greatest classics. Chillingly atmospheric, I have a feeling that with a great ensemble cast an adaptation of this would make for a great movie and one I’d love to stream!

y648 (11)

The War Widow by Tara Moss

If you love period dramas and 1920s glamour, cross your fingers for an adaptation of The War Widow by Tara Moss! Following journalist Billie Walker’s search for a missing German immigrant in post-war Sydney, Moss’ twist on the classic detective story makes this a must-read for anyone who grew up loving Nancy Drew and mysteries.

Well, Savvy Readers, that’s all for today! Tell me, what book are you hoping gets its own adaptation? Comment below or tweet us @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!
Marisol

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.