Savvy Recommendations: Thrilling Thrillers!

Last week we put together a list of our most anticipated Fall 2020 thrillers, so we thought it was only fitting to recommend some thrillers that we absolutely loved that you could read while you wait for those incredible new releases! Here’s what Team Savvy Reader has for you.

ALICE

y648

Dark August by Katie Tallo

I loved this book because it being set so close to home makes it extra creepy. Take the 401 to thrills and chills! It’s especially a love letter to Ottawa and you’ll be able to pick out your favourite locales in the book!

y404

Sister Dear by Hannah Mary McKinnon

I read A LOT of thrillers for work and I still didn’t see the twist in this one coming. I promise you, IT’S NOT WHAT YOU THINK.

y648 (1)

Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson

I listened to the audiobook of this one while recovering from a concussion and needing to avoid reading and screens. I went from boredom to intrigue as soon as I started the very first chapter!

BRIANNA

y404 (1)

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

This is a gripping story with a mind blowing ending. Sometimes when I read thrillers, I have a hard time connecting with some of the characters but that was not the case with this one. I was really invested in all of the characters and learning more about them. This book is such an interesting read!

y648 (2)

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

A suspenseful “locked room” thriller, except instead of a locked room, everyone is stuck at a wedding! I loved this book because every little detail matters, even if it seems insignificant. This is absolutely perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.

y648 (3)

To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan (on-sale 9/22/2020)

I absolutely loved reading Gilly’s previous novel, The Nanny, so I was super excited to dive into her newest thriller featuring a bestselling author as the protagonist. I found myself questioning everything as I read this one and had a hard time putting this one down as I read to discover the truth. Pre-order this one now so you can read it when it comes out on September 22!

MARISOL

y404 (3)

Good Girls Lie by J.T. Ellison

If you’re anything like me, you love a good boarding school story and novels set at elite institutions are among my absolute favourite! Set in Virginia at the prestigious Goode School for girls, this thriller begins with a murder and kept me guessing the whole way through. Just when I thought the twists were over, the finale blew me away. Definitely one of my all-time favourite thrillers, and perfect for fans of school stories!

y648 (7)

When No One is Watching by Alyssa Cole (on-sale 9/1/2020)

I am so excited for this one to hit shelves this September! Compulsively readable, I loved that this thriller engages with very real themes like race and gentrification and explored them from a new and decidedly wicked angle. Filled with suspense, Alyssa Cole raises the stakes one page at a time and the ending did not disappoint!

y648 (8)

Catherine House by Elisabeth Thomas

Another stellar school story, Catherine House is entirely unique and perfect for fans of literary and gothic fiction! An atmospheric and suspenseful story set at an exclusive and secluded university, this one follows a new student who uncovers the dark truth beneath her school’s promise of prestige. Ripe for fans of conspiracy theories and gothic horror alike, this is classic prep school fiction at its best!

JESSE

y648 (4)

These Women by Ivy Pochoda

I have to admit, I’m not a big thriller reader, but I absolutely devoured this novel. These Women follows five women living in a rapidly changing part of South Los Angeles connected by one violent man with a deadly obsession, though not all of them know that side of him… yet. A serial killer unlike any you’ve read before, These Women is remarkably well-written and truly a thriller you need to read.

y648 (5)

The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup

I know this one is a little older at this point, but I still can’t get enough of this book. I like my thrillers like I like my bedroom when I’m trying to sleep: as dark as can be! This book is certainly no exception. The prologue alone will have you gasping, and it is one hell of a ride from there.

y404 (2)

Confessions on the 7:45 by Lisa Unger (on-sale 9/1/2020)

One of my hobbies outside of reading is watching older movies and seeing if they still hold up today. One of those movies that I watched and loved recently was Strangers on a Train, the old Hitchcock film from 1951. Needless to say, when this manuscript came across my desk, I jumped on the opportunity to read it! It is an expertly plotted roller coaster of a ride about a chance encounter on, you guessed it, a train that unravels a shocking web of lies and deceit. It comes out in just under two weeks, and I can’t wait for you all to read it!

That’s all we’ve got, Savvy Readers. What are the best thrillers you’ve read recently? If you had to recommend ONE thriller to your friends, what would it be?

Happy reading!

Team Savvy Reader

One thought on “Savvy Recommendations: Thrilling Thrillers!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.