Most Anticipated Fall Fiction

Happy Wednesday Savvy Readers! Fall is right around the corner, and as any bookworm knows, this is THE SEASON for amazing new releases. I hope you’re as excited as I am because today I’m rounding up our most anticipated fall fiction releases!

September

9780778310006_180fb

The Book of Hidden Wonders by Polly Crosby

A charming and deeply imaginative debut novel, The Book of Hidden Wonders follows a young girl and her eccentric father who hides a treasure hunt that leads her to uncover a priceless secret about their family’s past within the pages of an illustrated book. Perfect for readers of Erika Swyler’s The Book of Speculation, this is an unforgettable story about growing up, facing mortality and discovering the hidden wonders that make us who we are.

9780778310174_3d889

The Last Story of Mina Lee by Nancy Jooyoun Kim

Told through the intimate lens of a mother and daughter who have struggled all their lives to understand each other, The Last Story of Mina Lee is a powerful and exquisitely woven debut novel that explores identity, family, secrets, and what it truly means to belong as an immigrant in America.

9781443460972_07c21

The Good German by Dennis Bock

In November 1939, a German anti-fascist named Georg Elser came as close to assassinating Adolf Hitler as anyone ever had. In this gripping novel of alternate history, he doesn’t just come close-he succeeds. But he could never have imagined the terrible consequences that would follow from this act of heroism. In this page-turning narrative, Bock has created an utterly compelling and original novel of historical speculation in the vein of Philip K. Dick’s cult classic The Man in the High Castle.

9781525804571_88fc1

The Orphan of Cemetery Hill by Hester Fox

Spooky season is closer than you think and this title is sure to get you in the holiday spirit! From the author of The Witch of Willow Hall and The Widow of Pale Harbor comes another atmospheric, historical, gothic tale, perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Deanna Raybourn.

9781443455879_04eec

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

When Nora Seed finds herself in the Midnight Library, she has a chance to make things right. The books in the Midnight Library enable Nora to live as if she had done things differently. But things aren’t always what she imagined they’d be, and soon her choices place the library and herself in extreme danger. Before time runs out, she must answer the ultimate question: what is the best way to live?

October

9780062998316_d594c

The Forgotten Daughter by Joanna Goodman

From the bestselling author of The Home for Unwanted Girls, comes another compulsively readable story of love and friendship, following the lives of two women reckoning with their pasts and the choices that will define their futures. Loosely related to Joanna’s first novel about the Duplessis Orphans, The Forgotten Daughter is a moving portrait of true love, familial bonds, and persistence in the face of injustice.

9781443463300_50369

Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton

It’s 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel.

9780062868084_8444f

The Cold Millions by Jess Walter

The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Beautiful Ruins delivers another “literary miracle” (NPR)—a propulsive, richly entertaining novel about two adventure-seeking brothers, the enemies who threaten them, and the women who reveal to them an unjust world on the brink of upheaval.

November

9781443459488_95b8d

The Historians by Cecilia Ekback

Before the war, they were the best of friends. Five brilliant young historians debated origins, ideas and the place of history in modern times under the guidance of their charismatic professor. When war broke out the five disbanded, ending up on different sides. Now one of them has been found tortured and killed…

9781335430991_2b90d

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

Down a small alleyway in the heart of Tokyo, there is an underground café that’s been serving carefully brewed coffee for over a hundred years. Local legend says that this coffeeshop offers its customers something different–the chance to travel back in time. Heartwarming, wistful, and delightfully quirky, Before the Coffee Gets Cold explores the intersecting lives of four women who come together in one extraordinary café, where the service may not be quick, but the opportunities are endless.

Well, Savvy Readers, which of these fall fiction releases are you planning on picking up first?! Tell me down below in the comments or tweet us @SavvyReader.

Happy reading!
Marisol

 

2 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Fall Fiction

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.