Books We Couldn’t Put Down last Month

Just in time for your holiday wish list, here are some books we just couldn’t put down last month.

The Historians by Cecilia Ekback

Before the war they were the best of friends. Five brilliant young historians debated origins, ideas and the place of history in modern times under the guidance of the charismatic Professor Lindahl. When war broke out the five disbanded, ending up on different sides. Now one of them has been found tortured and killed…

Moonflower Murders by Anthony Horowitz

From New York Times–bestselling author Anthony Horowitz comes a new novel featuring ex-editor hero Susan Ryeland, set to solve another murder mystery. Masterfully intriguing, brilliantly clever and relentlessly suspenseful, Moonflower Murders is a deviously dark take on vintage English crime fiction in which the reader becomes the detective.

The Transatlantic Book Club by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

The beloved author of The Mistletoe Matchmaker returns with an enchanting new novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nina George, and Nancy Thayer, about residents of Ireland’s Finfarran Peninsula who set up a Skype book club with the little US town of Resolve, where generations of Finfarran’s emigrants have settled.

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

Heartwarming, wistful, mysterious and delightfully quirky, Toshikazu Kawaguchi’s internationally bestselling novel explores the age-old question: What would you change if you could travel back in time?

The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick

In the tradition of the spellbinding historical novels of Philippa Gregory and Kate Morton comes a stunning story based on a real-life Tudor mystery, of a curse that echoes through the centuries and shapes two women’s destinies…

The Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff

One woman faces danger, intrigue, and love in the aftermath of World War II in this unforgettable novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris. 

The Stolen Sisters by Louise Jensen

Twenty years ago The Sinclair Sisters were taken. But what came after their return was far worse. Can a family ever recover, especially when not everyone is telling the truth…?

Better Luck Next Time by Kate Hilton

Over the course of an eventful year, the Hennessey children contend with the big struggles of midlife: aging parents, raging teens, crumbling marriages and bodies, new loves and the choice between playing it safe or taking life-altering risks. And as they inch toward a new definition of happiness, they might even persuade their parents—and themselves—that they’re all grown up.

Which ones did you love, Savvy Readers? Let us know in the comments below or on Twitter @savvyreader.

Cozy Reading!

Alice

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.