Books We Couldn’t Put Down This Month

When it comes to books, 2021 has started off with a bang. Here a some of the titles that we just couldn’t put down this month!

Our Darkest Night by Jennifer Robson

To survive the Holocaust, a young Jewish woman must pose as a Christian farmer’s wife in this unforgettable novel—a story of terror, hope, love, and sacrifice, inspired by true events, that vividly evokes the most perilous days of World War II.

The Captive by Fiona King Foster

In this rural noir, a woman is forced to confront her own past during a pulse-pounding expedition to deliver a fugitive.

Find Me In Havana by Serena Burdick

A novel based on the dazzling story of one of Hollywood’s most celebrated Hispanic actresses and her daughter’s search for closure surrounding her mysterious death.

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

Gutter Child by Jael Richardson

A fierce and illuminating debut from FOLD founder Jael Richardson about a modern heroine in an altered but all too recognizable reality who must find the strength within herself to forge her future and defy a system that tries to shape her destiny.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise.”

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, a gorgeous retelling of the Trojan War from the perspectives of the many women involved in its causes and consequences.

Let us know what your favourite January reads were in the comments below or over on Twitter @SavvyReader.

Happy Reading,

Alice

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.