The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashmini

This week’s 50 Book Pledge Featured Read, The Pearl That Broke Its Shell by Nadia Hashimi, is perfect for fans of The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini and Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda.  Of this incredible debut novel, Khaled says: “Nadia Hashimi has written, first and foremost, a tender and beautiful family story. Her always engaging multigenerational tale is a portrait of Afghanistan in […]

Read More

The Pearl That Broke It’s Shell

The Pearl That Broke It’s Shell by Nadia Hashimi is perfect for readers who were swept away by Shilpi Somaya Gowda‘s Secret Daughter. Of The Pearl That Broke It’s Shell, Shilpi says: “A fascinating look at the unspoken lives of Afghani women, separated by generations and miles, yet achingly similar. This is a story to transport […]

Read More